Just had this sudden realization

seanr
©Sean Richardson

“Just had this sudden realization that Elliott Smith moved on 10/21/03. I miss his smile and kind nature. When my friend Jay opened for Elliott at Umbra Penumbra in Portland, I had had a rough day with a resident at work in the mental health
field. Our patient had taken off all of her clothes and ran outside and down a busy steet. I was the person sent to calm her down, remove her from danger and bring her home safely.
Well, when I arrived to play the show, the place was so packed, I had to step over and over outstretched legs on the floor because no seats were available. I went backstage to regroup, and I noticed a 6-pack of Red Hooks on a counter top. I do not drink often, but I needed a beer. I asked who these beers belonged to and Elliott without saying a word, walked up, pulled up a beer, opened it and handed it to me and smiled. He played incredibly well that night.”

Sean Richardson

Leave a Reply

