I feel like if it got to the point where I didn’t want to play music anymore

jvd
©JVincent Dunne

“I feel like if it got to the point where I didn’t want to play music anymore, or couldn’t, that would signify that something had just sort of gone irreparably wrong and I probably wouldn’t be able to do anything creative. But I don’t see that happening. There’s a million songs to make up, even though people who don’t write songs say, “It’s all been done before.” They’re so wrong! There’s just millions of things to do, particularly lyrically. For a long time there’s been more people interested in the musical side of things and less people who think it’s fun and interesting to play around with words and be imaginative with them. I think there’s a lot of lyrical things that haven’t been touched on.”

Elliott Smith

Leave a Reply

