We toured together for a few weeks

bfolds

“We toured together for a few weeks…a good tour. He was a talented guy. Yeah, I mean, he was playing before me, then I played, then Beck played afterwards. We hung out a little bit, but not much. I didn’t really know him that well, but I liked him. He was a great guy. You know, when you’re on tour, you don’t get that much of a chance to hang out. I was usually just traveling. But we got along well. I was really sad when he died.

Late wasn’t a hard song to write. It may have been a little difficult to decide that it’s OK to release it, but all in all, it was fairly easy writing. It was just a matter of cutting out anything necessary that wasn’t absolutely true, if that makes any sense. It was about keeping the song really honest, and keeping it to what I know. I didn’t try to make a big concept about it.”

Ben Folds

Leave a Reply

