He had a show in Boise with the Softies

hd - Copie (3)

“He had a show in Boise with the Softies. And I was back in Portland and I was a mess and nobody knew, and I was like, ‘Elliott Smith, everyone knows he’s a junkie, and I’ll offer him a ride to Boise’. And when we were up there, I told him I was a mess and he told me he had never done it. I was pretty shocked by that. But not really. Once you get in that kind of trouble, you can tell if someone’s been through it or not. Then we were driving back from Boise and I was having a talk with him, saying, ‘I don’t want to go back to Portland, I don’t know what to do, I’m in a mess with everything.’ We were talking about how heroin had taken over the city. I was talking about crossing the Columbia River to get some heroin, and he was like, ‘I’d swim across that river for a piece of carrot cake.’ We spent the next two hours going around looking for carrot cake, after we were having this really heavy moment in the car.”

Bill Santen

Leave a Reply

