My favorite songs right now

elliottmarylou

“My favorite songs right now are written and sung by a guy named Elliott Smith. He’s in a band called “Heatmiser”. I like the band ok, but his solo acoustic stuff is incredible. I had the good fortune to tour with him in March. I would listen to him night after night and continually be blown-away emotionally. I would describe him as a cross between Dylan, Nick Drake, and (dare I say) Joni Mitchell a la “Cold Blue Steel Blue” phase. Wynton Marsalis says that the “blues”are like a vaccine: you gotta get a little to take it away. That’s how it is listening to Elliott. It’s so sad and heartfelt that it takes those feelings away. I can’t describe or explain how much his music means to me. I would suggest you get his record and see for yourself. I doubt it will be too long that the rest of the world start to notice this wonderful song-writer, ELLIOTT SMITH.”

Mary Lou Lord, 23 août 1995

Leave a Reply

