I try to stay free from traditions

kb
©Kevin Bannon

“I try to stay free from traditions. The only tradition that I like is the tradition of a pop song being short and melodic. The singer-songwriter thing is kinda irritating, cause so many of them have made grand statements about what’s wrong with the world. I mean everybody knows what’s wrong with the world, we don’t really need anybody to tell us. I just like to describe a situation and how you feel about it. I like certain aspects of different traditions… I like the thing about punk that made it important to keep changing even though punk didn’t keep changing, I like the melodic aspect of the Beatles and I like that Bob Dylan really liked words and so did Lou Reed I think and Elvis Costello. And I try to put all the things I like together.”

Elliott Smith

 

 

Leave a Reply

